Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Book Blitz!

It's that time again ladies and gents! Book Blitz time! And this time I am proud to present a blitz put together through Sage's Blog Tours, this blitz includes an awesome trailer and an even better giveaway below. So, Check it out!

                                                                                                                                    


Between You and Me
By Lynn Turner
Genre: Contemporary Romance

About the Book
Love at first sight strikes Seattle Scientist Finnegan Kane at the worst possible moment, paralyzing him as he’s pitching his cutting-edge idea to powerful New York venture capitalist Emanuela Monroe…
Finn survived the crash that killed his parents when he was sixteen. Twenty years later, his smart devices are about to redefine what it means to be disabled.
Emanuela makes dreams come true for a living, but still longs to fulfill her own. Despite Finn's stunning secret, she thinks his idea might be worth the risk...and he’s determined to show her that he is, too.


About the Author
Lynn Turner inherited her writing gene from her mother, who created fantastic tales about witches, invisible worlds and talking animals, and read them to her children at night. Lynn isn’t as great with the voices as her mother, but Rome wasn’t built in a day.
She discovered romance far too young, when a mission to find a young adult fantasy title led her to historical romance. She spent hours skimming those sumptuous pages, drinking in the vivid descriptions of settings and clothes, feisty heroines and looming lords, and poetic language. (She may or may not have enjoyed the PG-13 bits too, tucking a new title beneath her pillow at night).
She enjoys character-driven narratives most, and anything that transports her someplace else. Passionate about food and travel, she features healthy doses of both in the stories she crafts. Above all, she is dedicated to writing inclusive stories that explore what it means to be imperfectly human.
When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling, dreaming of traveling, or watching old Samantha Brown travelogue videos and wishing she had her job. She and her husband share their home in California with their two extraordinary children, and hope to add a floppy kitty to the family very soon.

On Facebook: www.facebook.com/LynnTurnerAuthor

On Twitter: www.twitter.com/Lynn_Writes

Website: www.LynnTurnerAuthor.com

On Amazon: http://a.co/0P56DxD

ON B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/2940158704680

On Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35441767-between-you-and-me#other_reviews

An Excerpt:
All the emotions from that night washed over him and the onslaught churned his stomach. “It was the same for me. But at the same time, I wanted to get far the hell away from you.” He watched her face for any sign of hurt, but to his relief, she just nodded.

“I know.” She frowned. “It was so strange. Almost made me sick.”

He drew in a sharp breath, noticing her stiffen in response.

“What?” she asked.

“That’s exactly how it was for me. It’s how I’m feeling right now.”

She nodded again. “We were both a little off. But your pitch was one of the more memorable ones I’ve had.”

“Don’t remind me. I don’t think I’ve ever botched it like that before.”

“Excuse me?” She smacked his chest. “Maybe I should rescind that offer.”

He chuckled. He knew she was wide open, and he wanted her to trust him. It was his turn to be exposed. He tapped his leg. “This is the best one I’ve had so far, except I can’t deep sea dive with it.”

She reached for his hand. “How many do you have?”

“Just one. But I’m waiting for the military to finish developing those bionic legs so I can lift cars with my foot.”

Her slim fingers traced his bigger ones. “You don’t have to do that, you know. Self-deprecate. You’ve already seen me naked.”

His eyes raked over her, his pulse jumping at her words. “You have no idea how much I’d like to see that again,” he said, sensing her shiver. “But first I want you to see me too. The real me.” He looked down at their hands. “Only if you’re comfortable.”

“I want to see. I just didn’t know how to ask. Or if I should ask.” She smiled. “I didn’t want to offend you.”

“You haven’t asked me to spank you with it, so this is already an improvement from my last date.”

Emanuela gasped. “No…”

He laughed at her horrified expression. “’Fraid so.” He gently removed her legs from his lap and stood in front of her. “And that was an improvement from the date before that.”

“Oh my God.” She snickered. “That’s awful.”

“Well, some kinky stuff is fun.”

“Ugh.” She narrowed her eyes. “Just drop your pants already!”

He grinned and turned away to do just that, bending to tug them off before coming back to sit beside her. Without further ceremony, he pushed on the front of the leg and a tiny motor whirred. “It’s vacuum sealed,” he said. “The button is hidden beneath this sleeve.”

He pulled down the flesh-colored skin covering his knee and the prosthetic leg. Then, he removed the prosthesis and propped it against the end table, glancing at Emanuela.

“What’s that?” she asked.

“It’s a sock. Just makes it more comfortable. Tighter fit.”

“How does it feel to take it off? Is it like taking your shoes off at the end of the day?”

“Wow.” He smiled wide. “That’s not half bad… It’s more like taking off a snug pair of jeans. Just by the way it feels.”

She nodded and he removed the sock, then peeled off the liner to leave his stump bare.

He watched her a moment, letting her take it in. Her eyes widened. Much of his leg was intact, halfway to his shin. It was smooth and conical, with a long pink scar at the tip of the stump.

“Some assembly required,” he said.

She made a sound that was half-gasp, half-laugh. “I’m sorry.”

“Don’t be. I was shocked the first time I saw it too.”

Her lips parted and closed again, darkness clouding her eyes. Finn could read everything in her face, and he silently agreed with the conflict he saw there. Part of him wanted to share the details about what happened, but another part of him wanted to preserve a moment that was new and exciting and full of promise. Another time. If she gives me a chance.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Cinderella Necromancer by F.M. Boughan

Cinderella, Necromancer
    -by F.M. Boughan
Publication Date:  September 5, 2017
Publisher:  Month9Books
Goodreads
Check out the Tour!











Synopsis:

Darkness can only be controlled by those with the darkest of hearts.
Ellison lost her mother at an early age. Now, sixteen, her father has found love again. He’s happy and doesn’t quite notice that Ellison does not get along with his new wife or her vicious daughters.
When Ellison discovers a necromantic tome while traveling the secret passages of her father’s mansion, she wonders if it could be the key to her eventual freedom.
Until then, she must master her dark new power, even as her stepmother makes her a servant in her own home. And when her younger brother falls incurably ill, Ellison will do anything to ease his pain, including falling prey to her stepmother’s and stepsisters’ every whim and fancy.
Stumbling into a chance meeting with Prince William during a secret visit to her mother’s grave feels like a trick of fate when her stepmother refuses to allow Ellison to attend a palace festival where she might see him once more.
But what if Ellison could see the kind and handsome prince again? What if she could attend the festival? What if she could have everything she’s ever wanted and deserved by conjuring spirits to take revenge on her cruel stepmother? And what if she actually liked watching her stepmother suffer?
As Ellison’s power grows, she loses control over the evil spirits meant to do her bidding. And as they begin to exert their own power over Ellison, it becomes harder to tell whether it is she or her stepmother who is the true monster.
CINDERELLA NECROMANCER is CINDER meets ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD and was inspired by a real medieval grimoire of necromancy from 15th-century Germany


About the Author:
F.M. Boughan is a bibliophile, a writer, and an unabashed parrot enthusiast. She can often be found writing in local coffee shops, namely because it’s hard to concentrate with a cat lying on the keyboard and a small, colorful parrot screaming into her ear. Her work is somewhat dark, somewhat violent, somewhat hopeful, and always contains a hint of magic.


Review:
I liked the feel of this book, it struck true with how the old fairy tales are told. I could literally see this book sitting on the shelves it had that much of an old school feel to it.

I also liked that actions had consequences. You want power?  Cool, here it is but there is a price. While this book isn't a fast paced action page turner, neither are most of the original fairy tales. I think that is part of the charm though.

What I didn't like about the book was how easily Ella was able to vanquish the bad guys. I get that this is a book that had to have a happily ever after where the good guys come out on top but it was so simple it felt like she just twitched her nose and everything went away.

Overall I love fairy tale retelling. They are some of my favorite reads, they are books that I will always snap up and try out . I liked the nifty twist on it that helped make it an interesting read. 

Note able Quotable:

Page 12
"...and mirrors wherever I turned. 'To remind yourself that you're beautiful no matter what state you're in, morning noon or night' my mother said" 

Purchase Links: 

Rating:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 8, 2017

Book Blitz Pink Lock Picks and Sequined Witch Hats

Hello again my lovelies! I am bringing you another great book to check out called Pink Lock Picks and Sequined Witch Hats. I even have some words from the author in a lovely interview with author Carla Rehse and a little sneak peak of the book to wet your appetite. This Blitz was provided for by YA Tours. 

Synopsis:
Seventeen-year-old homecoming queen, Gracie Mason, is a budding burglar.

While attempting her inaugural break-in, Gracie blacks out and wakes up far away from the scene. It turns out she accidentally intruded on a male witch’s “circle of power,” and now she’s bonded to him for life.

Gracie quickly learns that dissolving the bond with Asher, admittedly a very handsome and charming witch, is more complicated than she initially thought. To break the bond, Gracie must delve deeper into a society of witches that involves a secret club, a shadowy council, and all sorts of magical mischief. And right when it seems things can’t get any worse, witches start turning up dead.

It’s clear that Gracie is out of her depth as her quest to sever the bond magically turns into a murder investigation. But if Gracie and Asher don’t quickly uncover the killer, they might be next on the list



Carla Rehse Interview Questions

Tell us a little about your main character.

Gracie is rather complicated. She’s trying to figure out what she wants in life, like a lot of seventeen-year olds. She also has a strong sense of loyalty and a fuzzy moral compass.
Gracie is the person you’d want in the foxhole with you, as she’d do anything to get everyone out alive.


What actors/actresses do you envision for a Hollywood adaption of your book?

Gracie:  Griffin Arnlund
Asher:   Dylan Sprayberry
Willow: India Eisley
Uncle Jonah: Matt Bonner


Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I’m very much a plotter. I have a “storyboard” wall in my office with three chalkboards for outlines, plot threads, and characters. It helps me to be visual.

How many books have you written? Published?

I’ve written 5 books, but Pink Lock Picks and Sequined Witch Hats is the first to be published.

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a sequel: Pink Duct Tape and Glittery Broomsticks

And a fun question, what crazy thing do you want to do?

I want to touch a penguin. I have no idea why, but they fascinate me.

Lastly, where can readers find you?

I’m on twitter at @CRehse. You can also find updates on my website: carlarehse.com
From 9-3-17 to 9-9-17, Pink Lock Picks and Sequined Witch Hats will be on sale for $.99.




And now, a little sneak peek of the book: 

~One~
New Hobbies



Daddy told me years ago that to succeed in life I need a strong plan, the right tools, and the gumption to follow through. His words of wisdom helped me get elected homecoming queen, become co-captain of the cheerleading squad, and voted on the student council. Now I plan to use them to help me pull off my first burglary.
My plan is solid. I’ve also never backed down from a challenge, not even last year when Brittany Thomas became overly friendly with the entire football team in a sad attempt to deprive me of my crown. People say I started the rumor about the rash of STD cases spreading through the boys’ locker room faster than a brush fire. I didn’t, of course. Why start gossip when the squad of doctors from the local Health Department did it for me?
I take a deep breath as I enter the Trinity Building. At almost four o’clock on a Friday before a three-day weekend, the place is deader than a PTA meeting. It helps that today is the hottest July first on record for Central Texas and the air conditioning in this building is dismally subpar. The Trinity Corporation may claim to have the most upscale rental space in town, but one look at the gold leopard granite floor paired with peach-painted walls shows that’s a downright fib.
The only guard on duty leans back in his chair and sucks down a Sonic Route 44 Coke like his life depends on it. I wave as I pass the security desk, wearing a megawatt smile and fully confident in the strength of my lavender-scented Lavanila deodorant—vegan, of course. Deputy Dawg gives me his usual perv stare before returning to the comic book balanced on his knee.
Centex Therapy, LPC occupies most of the first floor office space. A small bell tinkles when I open the frosted glass door. What decorum the overall building lacks, the waiting room has in spades. Brown leather chairs sit on a bamboo rug and pastel paintings from local artists brighten the walls. A tall grandfather clock in the corner softly chimes four times. This late on a Friday means the room is empty of other patients. Perfect.
Jane, the receptionist, fans herself with a copy of Country Living. “Cutting it awfully close, Gracie. Go on in.”
Dr. McDozzle gives me a pained smile as I enter the room.
“Good afternoon, Miss Mason. Have a seat.” For a head shrinker, he’s incredibly formal. And a non-Texan, who hates football and sweet tea. I haven’t learned much more about him in the last month, but that’s enough to get him tarred and feathered if word got out.
The leather recliner squeaks when I sit down. “Thanks for seeing me on a Friday, Doc.” I twirl a strand of newly highlighted platinum hair around my finger. It goes wonderful with my bubblegum pink manicure. “Mr. Anderson, Daddy’s new lawyer, is now insisting I have two sessions a month with you. Of course, Mama’s lawyer says once a month is just fine, seeing how I’m such a well-adjusted high school senior and all. Almost a senior, I guess, since school’s not started.”    
Dr. McDozzle straightens his glasses. “Yes, well, your parents do seem to have quite the barrage of attorneys involved in their divorce. Have you worked on the homework I gave you during our last session?”
This is such a waste of time. My parents have spent the last five years embroiled in a divorce dirtier than a greased pig-wrestling contest. Both sides of the family have more money than sense, much to the delight of every lawyer in the tri-county area. Not that I want my parents to get back together. Anytime they’re within spitting distance of each other, the tension between them gives me a migraine. Besides, if they hadn’t split up, I never would’ve met Ben.
Ben’s the son of Daddy’s ex-girlfriend. Until four months ago, they all lived together in Daddy’s condo. Ben is a sophomore at the local college and is truly hot, in a geeky, stud muffin, save-the-world, kinda way. Crushing on my almost stepbrother might seem a bit sketchy, but it’s legal—I Googled it twice.
Which means it’s time to start step one in my Get Ben Plan.
I toss my hair over my shoulder before pulling out a pink glitter notebook from my Eiffel Tower-shaped mini-purse.
“You wanted me to write down my feelings about my parents’ shared custody thing. Honestly, I don’t understand why the lawyers are so panty twisted about me spending a week with Mama and the next with Daddy. It means I get double the wardrobe. Hello? What girl would say no to that? It’s way better than Heather’s situation. I told you about her last time, I think. The girl with the hideous frizzed-out curls but drives a cute BMW Z4 roadster? Anyway, her parents are insane.” I continue a steady stream of babble until Dr. McDozzle’s eyes glaze over.   
There’s no clocks in the room, but Dr. McDozzle keeps checking his watch. I’m sure the poor man created a nice therapy plan for me, but I’ve completely derailed it. Mama always says a girl has many tools to choose from in her arsenal—perfectly curled hair, well-placed boobs, and endless chatter are my faves. Besides, Daddy’s been paying therapists a fortune for years to show the divorce court how concerned he is about me. Dr. McDozzle’s earning his car payment today.
I snap my notebook shut and sit up straight. “Thanks, Doc. I feel so much better. Maybe I should go to the reflection bench for a spell?”
He nearly trips over himself to hustle me out to the courtyard in the center of the building. The concrete patio surrounded by four walls radiates enough heat to grill a steak, not that I eat meat anymore. Ben’s a founding member of the Texas Animal Army Movement, which preaches a vegan lifestyle and the rescue of abused animals.
Dr. McDozzle wipes at the sweat running down his reddening face. “You have fifteen minutes until the doors are locked for the weekend. We’ll continue our, uh … conversation next time. Jane will email you with an appointment date.”
I sit down on the edge of the bench. My hot pink and black-checked miniskirt is mucho cute, but doesn’t offer my thighs much protection from blistering plastic. “Will do, Doc. Enjoy your holiday.”
He leaves with a quiet sigh. During our first session, I blathered for a solid forty minutes while barely taking a breath. Daddy says I’d make a natural politician. In desperation, Dr. McDozzle hit on the idea of the “reflection bench” out here. He’s not really a bad therapist, but I only chose him ‘cause his practice is in the Trinity Building.
My iPhone beeps a two-minute warning. I head inside. The lights appear off at Centex Therapy. I hotfoot it to the Ladies’ room across the hall. It’s not the most sanitary place to wait until the coast is clear, but I brought santi-wipes.
I scroll through my photo album to pass the time. Ben has an entire folder dedicated to him. When he and his mom first moved in with Daddy, I thought he was an obnoxious douche with his constant sermons about how humans are destroying the environment and enslaving animals.
After a few stormy months, I shut my trap and listened to him. Ben knows what he wants out of his life and is determined to get it. I’ve never met anyone so brave and determined.
So, I gave up meat, and threw out my makeup in favor of vegan-only skincare lines. Now, I can’t live without my fuchsia metallic lip tar from Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics. I even got Barksie, my cream-colored, toy Yorkiedoodle, on an all-natural diet. I haven’t gone all cray cray and converted Barksie to a vegetarian, but it is my responsibility as a pet parent to ensure he gets the least processed food available.
Fate is a true bitch, though. Just as I realized Ben was The One, Daddy decided his mom wasn’t. Now, Ben and his mom live across the city in a tiny apartment and Daddy is dating Whitney, who really knows how to put the “w” into witch.
Ben’s gone through a lot of turmoil lately. Not only did he move to a new zip code, but also his girlfriend of two years dumped him. Sad for him, but perfect for me. I now have the chance to catch his attention.
My plan? Simple. To get information that really means something to Ben. He’s too soulful to be distracted by short skirts and tight shirts; trust me I’ve tried. No, I need to prove I’m a true partner in his cause—rescuing abused animals.
The mission: break into the office on the fifth floor of this building.
Labpartners, Inc. sounds like an innocent enough company. In truth, their office owns two huge warehouses that supply care products for lab animals. All I need to do is break in, riffle through their files until I find their mailing list. And then I can hand over a list of every animal broker they sell to. Ben will be so stoked. Not only will we know who’s raising the poor bunnies to be tortured, we’ll also know where their labs are.
Footsteps ring in the hall. I duck into the last stall with my heart hammering against my ribs. As expected, the security officer cracks open the door. “Anyone in here?” He waits a few seconds before turning off the light and shutting the door.
Too bad my bestie is on vacation, ‘cause no one’s better at creating a diversion than Abigail. And my usual wheelwoman, Seraphina, is also out of the country. Without my girls, I had no choice but to recon the building last Friday in my cheerleading outfit under the guise of seeking new sponsors for the school’s booster club. The Lanier Day Spa actually agreed. I need to remember to tell Coach Sanders. Mr. Smith, the accountant, offered me his cell phone number so we could discuss my college plans, as long as I don’t call on the weekend when his wife is home.
Five video games later and my phone buzzes a warning. It’s six o’clock, time to get started. Conventional wisdom might say a burglar needs to dress in black and wait until midnight to do the deed, but screw that. If I get caught, all I need is a few tears about getting locked in and a weak cell signal. Besides, who’s gonna believe I’m a thief in Michael Kors wedges and pearls?
Time for step two.
Most of the security cameras I’ve seen are focused around the elevators. I head toward the stairs next to my therapist’s office. None of the doors to the stairs have alarms, or at least the SWAT team has never jumped me for using them before. After climbing three flights, with two more to go, I’m seriously rethinking my choice of footwear. And what the heck is the smell in here? The Trinity Corporation really needs to change janitorial services.
At the fifth floor, I’m forced to take a breather for a few minutes. My heart is pounding and my knees shake. Thanks to my daily kickboxing routine, I know it’s not due to poor fitness. Once I leave this stairwell, I’m committed. Should I really do this? Then I think of Ben in his cute glasses and cargo shorts.
Hells yeah, I’m doing this.
I edge open the door, cringing at the squeak. The hall is dim with security lights mounted on the walls offering the only illumination. Four quick steps and I enter a dark breakroom. The Coke machine chooses this moment to kick in, startling me into swallowing my gum. Too gross.
The room has a well-used appearance to it. I scanned it last week under the pretense of a desperate PMS need for a Snickers. The soda and candy machines are crammed along one wall. Across from them is a small table holding an icky microwave splattered with the Ghost of TV Dinners Past and a coffee pot missing its carafe.
Businesses have come and gone in the building. This wasn’t always a breakroom, since the microwave table blocks a door leading into Labpartners, Inc. When the nice receptionist let me in last week, I spied the other side of this door. A potted palm tree tried to hide it.
I shove the table to the side. My knees are still shaking, but my hands are steady as I retrieve the hot pink lock picking kit I bought online for $12.99. It even came with a brochure, though it warned its customers not to use the product for criminal deeds. After watching a few online videos, I spent a week roaming around Mama’s house, practicing my skills. The front door gave me some fits at first, but I opened the cupboard in the hallway where she hides her erotic novels and European chocolates without a hitch.
Daddy gave me a faux diamond encrusted pocket light for Christmas three years ago. I balance it in my mouth, while I bend down to work on the door lock.
Footsteps sound in the hall. The flashlight tumbles from my mouth, and I freeze rabbit still. Ringing in my ears makes it hard to determine if the footsteps are coming toward me or moving away. Should I replace the table and bluff my way out or quickly open the door? Is it the security officer or some dimwitted, no-life office worker?
Damn it. Make a decision.
Opening the door, it is.
It’s a simple generic lock. I can do this. The footsteps stop and then start again. I balance the flashlight on the microwave table and aim it at the lock before inserting a tension wrench into the keyhole. I turn the wrench, then insert the pick, hoping I can rake the lock pins up. I try the handle. It doesn’t move. Freaking fantastic.
Sweat dots my forehead as I listen for footsteps. Someone’s close by, muttering something in a singsong fashion. Italian, maybe? I use a wider pick on the lock to try again, though a voice in my head loudly tells me to stop. The door still won’t open, and I want to throw the tension wrench across the room.
Why won’t it work? I can tell the pins in the lock are moving. It should freaking work. The Italian singing in the hall gets louder, more like chanting. Stomach acid burns a strip up my throat. I’m failing, and I don’t do failure.
I stare at my kit, unsure of which pick to use, before acquiescing defeat. My concentration is blown due to the idiot outside. Ben’s adulation will have to wait for another day. I edge my way to the door and peek outside. Some guy in a dark hoodie is kneeling and sprinkling something on the floor. If he’s the cleaning crew, no wonder this place is a mess.
His back is to me, giving me the opportunity to sneak across the hall to the stairway. I step outside and my shoe skids across chalky powder. I flail my arms, eyes going wide.
A bright blue flash blinds me and then there’s nothing.

Intensity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Title: Intensity
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon.
Aurhor's Page :HERE

Synopsis:
It’s a demon-eat-demon world for Nick Gautier. Just when he thinks he’s finally gotten a handle on how not to take over the world and destroy it, Death returns with an all-star cast that is determined to end the Malachai reign and lineage forever. Worse? Death and War have found the one, true enemy Nick can’t find, and even if he did, it’s one he could never bring himself to banish or kill.

Now framed for murders he hasn’t committed, and surrounded by new friends who might be turncoats, Nick is learning fast how his father went down in flames.

The heat in New Orleans is rising fast, and Nick’s threat-level has gone into a whole new level of intensity. He’s learning fast that when War and Death decide to battle, they don’t take prisoners. The don’t negotiate. And they’re both immune to his biting sarcasm and Cajun charm. To win this, he will have to embrace a new set of powers, but one wrong step, and he will belong to the side of Darkness, forever


Review:
Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon, I loved her books from the get go but that love grew when she took such an anti bully stance and placed it in her books. Kenyon reaches out to her fans and has been one of the nicest authors I have ever come across. Something that makes buying her books and merchandise so much easier. I would much rather support an author who is nice then one who has a rotten attitude. This book is a price example, her publishing company  kept pushing back the release date despite it being finished, Kenyon argues and fights about it because she promised the fans that it would be out in September. She even decided to self publish this one on her etsy page until it would be sorted because of that promise. How awesome is that!

Any way, about the book, I love this YA spin off. I like that it gives you so many hidden back stories and information about characters I loved in the Dark Hunter Series. I have seen a lot of people on the fan page shun the YA Series because it was YA and I just laugh at them and tell them that they don't know what they are missing. Kenyon has included some series information regarding the adults back stories in these books.

In this book, Nick is having to battle someone who looks just like him. And wait for it DUN DUN DUUUH It is his son. A Son no one knew he even had until just recently. A son who came from the future to steal everything Nick has and is even the one who kills him in the future.

In this book you get a lot of back story regarding the Malachai and his friends. You also get glimpses into the future if Nick gives in to the beast inside of him.

I read this book in one day, something that is normal for her books since I tend to binge read them. In the coming weeks I am fully intending to re-read the series and take my time and digest the information and fight scene's she packs into this.

This book also has a huuuuuge ending that left me wanting more. It was one of those sit up in bed while exclaiming "WHY" Endings.

Noteable Quotables:

-"This was a stupid idea. But then stupid ideas where Nick Gautiers specialty. In fact when God had been giving them out, Nick had gone back for not only seconds, but thirds and fourths. Probably fifths too." (7%)

-"I was born ready for being an idiot" ( 11%)

- " Let no one take you down. You stand and you fight until the end! Not for the fanfare or for the applause or laurels, but because you know what's right and what's wrong. Never fight because you have audience  or to gain notoriety. You fight for what matters- for the real things in life. Truth. Honesty. Dignity. Let no one steal, lie or cheat. You keep what you earn and never allow anyone to run over you because of the lies they tell others and the lies others are so willing to believe about you. " ( 58 %)

-"Rise through the pain Nicky Boo. No matter how dark the night or how bitter the storm, light always finds a way through the densest clouds to shine again." - (58%)

- " Whenever you want to give up. Lift one fist and one finger to the sky and defy them all to the bitter end" (58%)

- " Tomorrow no one will remember what cruel thing they said, but they will remember how you held your head high during the storms. They will remember the brightness of your smile and the way you laughed when they tried to bring you down. Let your laughter be the beacon that warms the world"(59%)

-"Y'all keep saying things like that but really...I'm about as useful as the G in lasagna." (65%)

Rating:

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Luna Rising Book Spotlight!



Hello my wonderful lovalies! Do I have a treat for you today! Today we are hosting a book spot light for Luna Rising, this tour was provided for through Sage's Blog Tours.
Check out this awesome book below! Don't forget to check out the giveaway at the bottom of the page and enter for your chance to WIN!







Luna Rising
By Selene Castrovilla
Genre: Women's Fiction


About the Book

Life begins at thirty-eight for Long Island mom and writer Luna Lampanelli, when she kicks her secretly gay husband to the curb. She's got her freedom, but what she wants is love. Luna knows she doesn't need a man to exist, but try telling that to her heart. Against the advice of Sunny, her snarky best friend, and Jiminy, the cautioning voice in Luna's head who just won't shut up, Luna sets course to find a mate. Luna speed and on-line dates her way into several short-lived, surreal relationships. There's Ari, the humorless Israeli who refuses to assimilate – to America, and to humanity. There's Alex, the young and handsome ex-crackhead who informs Luna he doesn't want to be monogamous—while they're in bed. There's Memphis, the wild-eyed sadomasochist. There's Red, angry and crippled, who becomes the catalyst for Luna to join Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous. But before Luna can proceed to recovery, she meets the elusive but oh so appealing Trip. He's emotionally unavailable and has the Madonna-Whore Complex, but how can Luna (aka "whore") let him go when she enjoys his dry wit so much, and his body even more? Humorously haunting and packed with unspeakable truths, Luna Rising follows a woman's funny and heart-breaking struggle to relate with un-relatable men and an un-relatable world, and to figure out something even more un-relatable: herself.

About the Author

Selene Castrovilla debuts in women’s fiction with Luna Rising, but she’s no stranger to publishing. An award-winning teen and children's author, Selene believes that through all trends, humanity remains at the core of literature. Her novel Melt, Book One of the Rough Romance Trilogy, received six honors including the IndieReader Discovery Award Grand Prize for Fiction. Revolutionary Friends: General George Washington and the Marquis de Lafayette, her third nonfiction picture book about the American Revolution, was the recipient of four awards including Booklist Top Ten Biography for Youth, International School Librarians’ Honor Book and Eureka! California Reading Association Honor Book. A companion book, Revolutionary Rogues: John AndrĂ© and Benedict Arnold, is hot off the presses. Selene holds an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from The New School and a B.A. in English from New York University. She lives on Long Island with her two sons and too many cats, where she sits on her deck in the summer, fall and spring (and at her picture window in the winter) and writes. She loves the color purple and coffee. Selene plays well with others, but with words even better. She is so grateful to do what she loves. National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson calls Selene “a writer worth watching.”

Visit www.SeleneCastrovilla.com.

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SCastrovilla

On Twitter: @SCastrovilla

On Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Luna-Rising-Selene-Castrovilla/dp/0991626192 On

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32963894-luna-rising

On B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/luna-rising-selene-castrovilla/1125286165




An Excerpt
“I’m gonna try dating again,” Luna told Joe, her boxing coach. They were doing pad work— jabbing, hooking, ducking, slipping and talking about love.
“Don’t do it. You ain’t ready,” he said. “Uppercuts!”
“Gee, thanks.” She drove her fists up into the pads until the bell rang.
“Rest. Hey, you want me to lie, or what?”
“Possibly.”
“What makes you all gung-ho to do this? You need to get laid?”
“No . . . well, I guess maybe yes . . . But that’s not it. I just feel good. I’ve been living alone for nine months. I’ve been okay.”
Not exactly true . . . she’d nearly fallen apart every time something in the house broke down. But she wanted to concentrate on the positive. She’d survived. That was positive.
“What’s your game plan?”
“I thought I’d try CraigsList.”
 “CraigsList? Are you shitting me? That’s where you buy a table, not get a date.”
 “Yesterday, I heard a guy on Howard Stern say he met someone on CraigsList. It was love at first sight.”
 “That’s ridiculous. That ain’t love.” The bell rang again. He held up his right pad. “Double hook. Twist on your heel!”
 Luna complied, or at least she thought she did.
 “TWIST!” he hollered. “Holy shit, for months I been telling you to twist. What does it take?”
 She tried again. She responded to being yelled at. “Better,” he said. “Twenty. Go!”
 Luna twisted and thudded, twisted and thudded. In the background Cher crooned “If I Could Turn Back Time.”
Joe said, “It took me six or seven years to fall in love with my wife.”
 Luna almost fell over mid-twist. “Really?”
 “Yeah. In the beginning I would’ve told you it could never happen. But people can grow on you.”
Twist, thud, twist, thud.
Over and over, catching Joe’s steady blue eyes in-between each move.
Then he said, “Love is a consequence.”
  Twist, thud¸ twist, thud. “That’s an unusual concept,” she said.
 “It’s true,” he said. Then he said, “Jab, jab, double left uppercut.”
 She struck the pads silently for a few moments. Consequence seemed almost a dirty word, although she didn’t know why. Maybe it was too grown up.
 Luna liked the immediate.
 She asked, “What about the Zen saying, ‘leap and the net will appear?’”
 Joe said, “You’re mixing metaphors. Jab, jab, right, right uppercut.”
 Thud, thud. “Am I?” Thud, Thud.
 He laughed. “What the hell do I know about metaphors? Sounded good, though.”
 The bell rang. Joe yanked off Luna’s gloves, tossed them to the corner under the mirror, ripped the Velcro seal on her wraps and unraveled her. The wraps landed in a heap at her feet. “Let’s go,” he said.
 He put a thirty-pound weight on what Luna called “the butt machine” and motioned her on. She stepped onto the platform, bent under the shoulder lift, spread her feet so they were centered, pulled the safety bar out and pushed up, lifting the weight on her shoulders.
 Lift, squat. Lift, squat. The first couple were never bad. She said, “Don’t you at least believe in unconditional love?”
 “The only unconditional love we have is for our kids.”
 Up, down. Up, down.
 By the fourth she was feeling the strain in her thighs and her rear. She felt it in her chest too, which stopped her from responding.
 Up, down. Up, down.
 Up, down. Up, down.
 Her legs were trembling. “Jesus, Joe…” she managed.
 He said, “Jesus wasn’t really sacrificing anything to die for our sins. He knew he was going to heaven. I don’t have that kind of faith.”
 Up, down. Up, down.
 Up, down. Up, down.
 Was he even keeping count here?  “I have to stop,” she told him.
 “Two more.”
 Up. “Uhhhh!” Down. “Uhhhh!”
 Up. “Uhhhh!” Down. “Uhhhh!”
 “And rest,” Joe said.
 Luna slid the locking bar forward and moved out from under the shoulder rest. She wobbled down.
 That’s why she paid him – she’d never push herself this far.
 She leaned against the machine for support. In between recuperating huffs she said, “So you’re saying even Jesus didn’t offer unconditional love?”
 “I’m saying he had nothing to lose. It was a no-brainer for him.”
a Rafflecopter giveaway Direct link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/70954c79160/?

Friday, September 1, 2017

All The Wrong Chords by Christine Hurley Deriso

Title: All The Wrong Chords
Author: Christine Hurley Deriso
Author's Page:HERE
This galley was generously provided for by NetGalley in exchange for an honest Review. Thanks!
Synopsis:
Scarlett Stiles is desperate for a change of scenery after her older brother, Liam, dies of a drug overdose. But spending the summer with her grandfather wasn't exactly what she had in mind. Luckily, Scarlett finds something to keep her busy--a local rock band looking for a guitarist. Even though playing guitar has been hard since Liam died, Scarlett can't pass on an opportunity like this, and she can't take her eyes off the band's hot lead singer either. Is real happiness just around the corner? Or will she always be haunted by her brother's death? 

Review:
*Possible SPOILERS ahead, you've been warned!*

This is a nice fluffy read perfect for lounging outside in the sun soaking up some rays or just spending the day in the bed being lazy.

this was more of a nice clean read with only a little steam coming from those make out sessions that fogged the car windows.

This book touches lightly on the topic of suicide, Scarlett spends the summer with her grandfather after her brother over doses on pills.

The two of them were musicians and in her grief she feels like she has lost her way and cannot play her instrument anymore. It brings up to many memories that are to painful for her to deal with since she is not ready. 

That is until she almost runs over a boy and finds out that said boy (Zach) Is in a band and his grandparents are her grandfathers friends. 

I likes that it brought up how easy it is to get hooked on prescription medication after you have been given them by a doctor for an injury. I also liked that Scarlett falls for the wrong guy in the beginning and even reasons away all of his douche bag tendencies. A lot like most women do when they are in a bad relationship. 

Rating:


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Cover Reveal!



Hello ladies and gents! It is that time again. Time to reveal the beautiful covers of some interesting reads. This week our cover real is generously provided for thanks to Sage's Blog Tours
If you want some swoon worthy love stories check out these books at the links below!

The Donnellys Series - Unworthy
Heart; Defensive Heart; Shattered Heart
By Dorothy F. Shaw
Genre: Contemporary Romance
~Normal doesn’t always mean picture perfect~
Get up close and personal with the Donnelly family as each sibling takes a journey through the trials and tribulations of everyday life…to finally find their one true love.
The Donnelly family may be a happy “normal” one, but they are far from perfect.

https://twitter.com/DorothyFShaw

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDorothyFShaw/

http://www.dorothyfshaw.com/

Unworthy Heart:
Amazon: http://bit.ly/UHDonnellys1

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/UH1GRDS

B&N: http://bit.ly/UHDonnellysBN

Defensive Heart:
Amazon: http://bit.ly/DHDonnellys2

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/DH2GDRDS

B&N: http://bit.ly/DHDonnellysBN


Shattered Heart:
Amazon: http://bit.ly/SHDonnellys3

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/SH3GDRDS

B&N: http://bit.ly/SHDonnellysBN